Learning Video Poker

Discuss proper hold strategies and "advantage play" and ask questions about how to improve your play.
VitaminSpud
Forum Newbie

Learning Video Poker

Post by VitaminSpud »

I'm new to Video poker and trying to learn from the wizardofodds site. But I've stumbled at the first step. On the https://wizardofodds.com/games/video-poker/quiz/ the first question shows the starting hand of;

4D QS JC 3C 10C

and the correct answer to keep is apparently

QS and JC

I'm at a loss as to why you wouldn't keep the 10C as well, leaving yourself only two cards needed to get to a Royal Flush. My understanding is to always try for the highest possible hand in the pay table.
All guidance appreciated!

Eduardo
Video Poker Master

Post by Eduardo »

If you are holding the QS and JC, then holding the 10C will not allow for a royal flush (you already have a spade and club in your starting hand).

Going for the highest possible hand in the pay table is an oversimiplification. That would mean hold any single 10 or face card to go for the royal. There is definitely more to it than that. With practice, it will all start to make more sense. Strategy will also depend on which pay table and game you are playing.

You should pick up some training software either here on videopoker.com or elsewhere.

VitaminSpud
Forum Newbie

Post by VitaminSpud »

Thank you Eduardo :)

Can anyone recommend a plain english, non jargon/technical explanation of how to make decisions of what to hold? If I look at this practice question (with the answer added below) I'm lost as to why the corrent answer is that you should be holding the ten as well as the queen.

VitaminSpud
Forum Newbie

Post by VitaminSpud »

Here's another one;

How are there 3 ways i might make jacks or better? only another queen would get me a pair surely?

VitaminSpud
Forum Newbie

Post by VitaminSpud »