Why keep the Q and J but not the Ace?

Discuss proper hold strategies and "advantage play" and ask questions about how to improve your play.
GML
Forum Newbie

Why keep the Q and J but not the Ace?

Post by GML »

I recently started learning to play Jacks or better.
While practicing with a tutorial, I was dealt the following hand:

Kd / 9s / As / 3h / Qc

I chose to hold the three high cards but software told me I should only keep the Kd and Qc.

It says, best hands:
1) K - - - Q : 2.39
2) K - A - - : 2.38
3) - - A - Q : 2.33
4) K - A - Q : 2.28

I don't really understand the logic. Why is holding two cards better than holding three? And given that it's "Jacks or better", why does the K and Q seem better than the Ace on first option, the K and A better than Q in second, and A and Q better than the K? I would have imagined the three of them hold equal value and have the same outs?

Player422738
VP Veteran

Post by Player422738 »

Video poker may be more complex than you think.

For a 52-card deck, for any dealt hand, by holding all to none of them, there are 32 ways of holding the cards.

The expected return is the average of all outcomes given by a specific holding. It may be counter-intuitive.

You may find the difference if you look at the number of ways each pay line you can possibly hit. Most of the time, the straight or flush penalty card has a major impact on strategy.

crxsti
Forum Newbie

Post by crxsti »

You limit the possibility to draw to higher paying hands such as high pairs, two pairs, three of kinds, straights, full houses (this would be zero with AKQ), and 4 of a kinds (also zero with AKQ) because you're reducing the number of draws (or "outs" as you said) which reduces the overall expected value of holding AKQ when compared to holding just KQ. All of these possible outcomes contribute to the higher expected value of 2.39 when holding just KQ.