VPW software

Discuss video poker programs for the home user
Webman
Video Poker Master
Posts: 4907
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:11 pm

Re: VPW software

Post by Webman »

1.11 is after 1.5. You are up to date.Think of it as "11"

razuberii
Forum Rookie
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:34 am

Post by razuberii »

Guys, thanks for the info. I appreciate it.

EagleWarrior
Forum Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:51 pm

Post by EagleWarrior »

Bob Dancer's VP software is vastly superior to Paymar's.
I have been using both and have found that Dancer's is close to what you actually experience in the casinos. 
Paymar's seems to exist on a planet all its own.
Louis EW

scorpio2
VP Veteran
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:17 am

Post by scorpio2 »

eaglewarrior been to ac lately?

nikkitoni
Forum Rookie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:15 pm

Post by nikkitoni »

So I've been playing VPFW for the last three weeks or so and I think I'm actually a worse vp player for using this software. I really liked it at first, but once you get to the advanced level, things get very confusing. It would deal me a hand and say my hold was incorrect. Later, it would deal me the exact same hand and I would hold what it had previously told me to hold, and it would tell me I was wrong! I tried to play vp on this game just for the fun of it, but that stupid error message started popping up! Grr....!!! I'm heading to the casinos on Monday - Wednesday (going to South Point in Vegas due to the great reviews a few people here gave it) and I'm wondering if I'll even be able to play decently there.

Seriously - this stupid system has me so nervous it is unbelievable!!!

damule
VP Veteran
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:59 pm

Post by damule »

So I've been playing VPFW for the last three weeks or so and I think I'm actually a worse vp player for using this software. I really liked it at first, but once you get to the advanced level, things get very confusing. It would deal me a hand and say my hold was incorrect. Later, it would deal me the exact same hand and I would hold what it had previously told me to hold, and it would tell me I was wrong! I tried to play vp on this game just for the fun of it, but that stupid error message started popping up! Grr....!!! I'm heading to the casinos on Monday - Wednesday (going to South Point in Vegas due to the great reviews a few people here gave it) and I'm wondering if I'll even be able to play decently there.

Seriously - this stupid system has me so nervous it is unbelievable!!!

 
 
My guess is the software is correct and your holds are wrong. Keep mind that when you play at an advanced level "penalty cards" become a larger part of the hold strategy. And although the hand dealt may look identical (such as 3 to a royal flush) the other 2 cards may or may not be penalty cards and can change the strategy ever so slightly. I would recommend investing some more time into the reasons why the hold may or may not be correct. And if you're still unsure or believe there may be a glitch in the software email Bob Dancer and ask. He will most definitely point you in the right direction or look into the program issue.

nikkitoni
Forum Rookie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:15 pm

Post by nikkitoni »

[QUOTE=nikkitoni]So I've been playing VPFW for the last three weeks or so and I think I'm actually a worse vp player for using this software. I really liked it at first, but once you get to the advanced level, things get very confusing. It would deal me a hand and say my hold was incorrect. Later, it would deal me the exact same hand and I would hold what it had previously told me to hold, and it would tell me I was wrong! I tried to play vp on this game just for the fun of it, but that stupid error message started popping up! Grr....!!! I'm heading to the casinos on Monday - Wednesday (going to South Point in Vegas due to the great reviews a few people here gave it) and I'm wondering if I'll even be able to play decently there. Seriously - this stupid system has me so nervous it is unbelievable!!!

 
 
My guess is the software is correct and your holds are wrong. Keep mind that when you play at an advanced level "penalty cards" become a larger part of the hold strategy. And although the hand dealt may look identical (such as 3 to a royal flush) the other 2 cards may or may not be penalty cards and can change the strategy ever so slightly. I would recommend investing some more time into the reasons why the hold may or may not be correct. And if you're still unsure or believe there may be a glitch in the software email Bob Dancer and ask. He will most definitely point you in the right direction or look into the program issue.[/QUOTE]

I thought my holds were wrong at first too, and I was getting very frustrated with myself, so I started documenting the hands I was getting, what I would hold and how the program would correct me. Sure enough, the program would deal me the same hand twice and when I would hold the cards it originally suggested, it would come up wrong.

I pulled up the strategy sheet too and went by the EV for my hands. Even hands that had the higher EV would come up as incorrect holds.

Perhaps you're right. I'll email Bob Dancer and see what's up.

Thanks.

shadowman
Video Poker Master
Posts: 3587
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 5:42 pm

Post by shadowman »

Feel free to post the hands here. I'm sure we'd all like to see what's happening. We may be able to point out subtle situations you may not understand.

nikkitoni
Forum Rookie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:15 pm

Post by nikkitoni »

Feel free to post the hands here. I'm sure we'd all like to see what's happening. We may be able to point out subtle situations you may not understand.

I'll do that and I'd appreciate your help! Thanks! :)

palacehn
Forum Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:57 pm

Post by palacehn »

How come you can't double up in VPW and in the previous poker game that Bob Dancer released (the one called winpoker)you do have that feature????

Post Reply