police radar Help

Talk about your new shoes, new car, or UFO's!
oej719
Video Poker Master

police radar Help

Post by oej719 »

Can someone tell me if a state trooper can clock your speed if he is moving  in the oppsite direction from you on a two lane road.

I got a ticket from a cop on a 2 lane highway and he was traveling south and I was traveling north. I thought they had to be stopped or traveling in the same direction as you to tell your speed.
Should I fight this or pay the fine. I have not had a ticket since I was 17 years old so I am new at this.
Thanks

rascal
VP Veteran

Post by rascal »

There are three main forms of radar used by cops. It depends on the band. Yes, he can be moving and clock you, but my question is whether or not he calibrated the unit before he got you. One of the reasons it is preferred to use it stationary is because they can calibrate it from their stopped position and know that it is accurate for all of their "stops." Using it in the opposite direction while moving "can" work fine, but your defense might be (a) calibration and (b) other traffic close to you at the time of the stop. However, be aware that it is pretty hard to beat traffic tickets. Judges have seen it all, heard it all. It might be better, depending on how many miles you were over the limit, to respectfully ask the judge for prayer for judgment, based on your perfect driving record, and agree to attend traffic school or something to keep it from going on your insurance record. Nowadays it is not the fine that bites as bad as the insurance increase in some states.

MikeA
Video Poker Master

Post by MikeA »