Jacks Or Better - holding 3 to a straight flush

Discuss proper hold strategies and "advantage play" and ask questions about how to improve your play.
Ronnie
Forum Newbie

Jacks Or Better - holding 3 to a straight flush

Post by Ronnie »

I am a computer programmer with forty years of experience who has recently taken an interest in Video Poker, particularly Full Pay Jacks or Better (with the 9/6 ratio for Full House and Flush).

I've written a computer program that can play millions of hands very quickly and analyze all possible combinations of Hold/Discard after the initial deal. For speed I wrote the program in assembler language.

My program has produced results that are consistent with all conventional wisdom derived and reported by experts except for one significant difference.

That significant difference occurs when you are dealt three low cards to a straight flush plus one high card and one unsuited low card not related to the first three low cards.

I am not suggesting for one second that I am smarter than the experts!

And, in fact, I fully acknowledge -- even with the data that I present here -- that I may be overlooking something!

But that is my reason for posting this message.

In presenting my findings here I am hoping that someone in this group will evaluate my data and then tell me where I am correct or incorrect.

Okay, here is the hand in question.

The cards dealt are:

3H 4H 6H KS 9C

Every book and every website article
I have seen has said that the optimum play is to hold the 3H 4H 6H: in other words, go for the straight flush.

My computer program, on the other hand, is telling me emphatically -- based upon playing one million hands with those same five cards dealt -- that the optimum play is to hold the King.

In terms of preferability my program is telling me that the decision to hold the King rather than going for the straight flush is not even close!

And it makes sense to me, for this reason.