Odds Difference

Discuss proper hold strategies and "advantage play" and ask questions about how to improve your play.
FAA
Video Poker Master

Odds Difference

Post by FAA »

Why is there a quoted odds differential between a four Aces and four deuces hand?

FloridaPhil
Video Poker Master

Post by FloridaPhil »

FAA wrote:
Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:52 am
Why is there a quoted odds differential between a four Aces and four deuces hand?
If you are playing deuces wild, I think it's because the deuces are wild and can make more paying combinations. If you are playing a game where four aces gives you a bonus, it's because four aces pays more than four deuces. I'm not an odds expert, so I could be wrong.

onemoretry
Video Poker Master

Post by onemoretry »

FAA wrote:
Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:52 am
I have no idea what you mean by the term "odds differential". Could you elaborate? And, could you also identity the game and pay table involved?

New2vp
Video Poker Master

Post by New2vp »

OMT, I am going to guess that FAA is talking about the Statistics subtab under the Learn tab on this cite.

FAA, Is that true? I've posted them below. So, it seems here that Four Aces is less frequent than Four Deuces. But you have to look at the sentence below, which on the website is above the odds. It is a disclaimer that OMT's instincts are telling him you need to consider. The odds are different for every game depending upon your holding strategy. If all you cared about were hitting 4 aces, the odds would be 1/3384.0625, but you won't for example toss a dealt royal flush to go for four aces. Similarly, is all you cared about was hitting four deuces, the odds would be the same, 1/3384.0625.

Jackpot Frequencies Odds
Royal Flush dealt 1 / 650,000
Royal Flush ending hand 1 / 40,000
Four of a kind 1 / 423
Four Aces 1 / 5,761
Four Aces with a kicker 1 / 16,236
Four Deuces 1 / 4,909
2’s – 4’s 1 / 2,601
2’s – 4’s with a kicker 1 / 6,984
Full House 1/90
Flush 1/85
Straight 1/80
Straight Flush 1 / 9,150